Rabindranath Tagore University, Bhopal RabindraNath Tagore -
Faculty of Computer Science- Rabindranath Tagore University
Computer Science and IT


About – Department of Computer Science And IT

Information Technology (I.T.) as an industry is one of the prime contributors towards the growth of the economy of a nation. In order to meet the growing demands in the industries, RabindraNath Tagore University has established Department of Computer Science and Applications in the year 2011. The department offers Ph.D. (CS/IT), M.Phil (CS/IT), M.Sc. (CS/IT), BCA, BSC(CS/IT)). The department also offers one year diploma program in computer application (DCA) and Post Graduation Diploma in Computer Application (PGDCA). The courses have been designed to provide necessary theoretical background and practical skills keeping in view the emerging trends, as well as contemporary and futuristic human resources requirement of the IT industry and business houses.

These courses provide students with in-depth knowledge of programming methodologies, software tools, Internet techniques, networking and administration etc. The course includes Windows, Linux, C++, DOT NET, Java, Oracle, Internet Technology, Multimedia, Computer Graphics, Compiler Design, Database Management Systems, Computer Networks, and Emerging Technologies etc. As part of the curriculum the students are required to undertake a major project in final semester. The curriculum provides students with an excellent opportunity to gain exposure to theoretical and practical skills in Computer Science. The department has a well-equipped laboratory with Servers, LCD Projector, Visual Presenter, Pen Drives, laser printers, DVD writers etc.

Today the Department of Computer Science is one of the growing departments of the RabindraNath Tagore University which has central computing lab for both undergraduate and post graduate students. It also has a separate lab for the research scholars.

The guidance and cooperation of the experienced and expert faculty of the department is one of the attracting features of the department, which enlivens the students to stretch their wings, so that they can fly higher than their dreams and serve the country.

Program Details




MSC(IT) (Master of Science in Information Technology)

2 Years


MSC(CS) (Master of Science in Computer Science)

2 Years


BSC(IT) (Bachelor of Science in Information Technology)

3 Years

10+2 With Mathematics

BSC(CS) (Bachelor of Science in Computer Science)

3 Years

10+2 With Mathematics

BCA(Bachelor of Computer Application)

3 Years

10+2 With Any Subject

PGDCA ( Post Graduation Diploma in Computer Science and Application)

1 Year

Graduation in any discipline

DCA ( Diploma in Computer Science and Application)

1 Year

10+2 With Any Subject

Board of Studies

Followings are the members of Board of Studies

  1. Dr. Rajendra Gupta, Associate Prof. CSA Dept, RabindraNath Tagore University, Raisen
  2. Mr. Prajeet Sharma, Asst. Prof. CSA Dept, RabindraNath Tagore University, Raisen
  3. Mr. Shashikant Upadhyay, Asst. Prof. CSA Dept, RabindraNath Tagore University, Raisen
  4. Mr. Abhishek Tiwari, Asst. Prof. CSA Dept, RabindraNath Tagore University, Raisen
  5. Dr. R.S. Thakur, Associate Prof., MCA Dept, MANIT, Bhopal
  6. Dr. Prashant Singh, ISE Software Solutions, Bhopal


Technical Staff
Faculty plays important role for the overall development of students. Computer Science and application Department have experienced faculties. And they have full knowledge in their respective field.

Sr. No. Faculty Name Qualification Designation Experience Photo
1 Dr. PRATIMA GAUTAM M.Phil, Ph.D. (CS) Associate Professor 18 Years
2 Dr. RAJENDRA GUPTA M.Phil, Ph.D. (CS) Associate Professor 18 Years
3 Mr. ABHISHEK TIWARI B.E(IT),M.Tech Assistant Professor 5 Years
4 Mr.PRAJEET SHARMA B.E(CS),M.Tech Assistant Professor 5 Years
5 Mr. SHASHIKANT UPADHYAY B.E(CS),M.Tech Assistant Professor 10 Years

Non-teaching Staff

Sr. No. Faculty Name Qualification Designation Experience

Department of computer science and application offers Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) program through Ph.D in computer science and application disciplines. Award of Ph.D. degree will be made on the basis of academic achievements in research work and published work as well as the papers presented in seminars, conferences etc.

The doctoral staff focuses on the research work of the candidates to monitor the original work, characterized either by the discovery of facts or by a fresh approach towards the interpretation and application of facts.

The Master of Philosophy is a special program aimed at developing the student’s research acumen and teaching abilities in his field of specialization. This degree confers official standing as a certified doctoral candidate.

Academic Calendar

Well equipped Computer Lab with Internet facility


The Central Library of the RabindraNath Tagore University is fully digitized. Here, the students can access huge databases of traditional printed and digital materials along with 40,000 books, 5000 titles and thousands of CDs, journals and reports. Daily various news papers are available for students for building their knowledge about the world.

News Views and Update


  • Orientation program of first year students was conducted by department on 1/08/2017
  • Results of all semester were declared on university website.
  • Technical awareness program was conducted by university where representative of Microsoft, Siemens, Intel and Google guide the students.





Commencement of semester , Fees Payment and Registration 6th, 4th, 2nd Sem

22 Jan. 2018


Commencement of classes (Attendance Compulsory) 6th, 4th, 2nd Sem

23 Jan. 2018


MSA-1 (After Unit- 1) Assignment

07 Feb. 2018


Mid Semester Test (MST-1) After (Unit 2)

27 Feb. 2018


Display of Mid Semester Test-I results and attendance

04 March 2018


MSA-2 (After Unit- 3) Assignment

22 March 2018


MST-2, (Test) (Unit 4)

19-21 April 2018


Display of MST-2 Result & Attendance

20 April to 15 May 2018


Submission of Examination Forms and Examination Fees

24 April 2018


Minor (All Units)

21-25 May 2018


Display of Result of Minor

16-23 May 2018


Submission of Examination Forms with Late Fees

28 May 2018


Preparation Leave

To be notified later


Major Semester Final Examination Theory & Practical

30 May to 25 June 2018


Semester Vacation

26 June to 10 July 2018


Commencement of new semester

11 July 2018

All the two MST's (MST-1 & MST-2) will be for duration of one period only. Class teacher will conduct the MST any day between the block dates given above during class hours with prior notice to the class. MSA's will be two/three sheets assignments to evaluate problem solving skill, analytical approach and conceptual understanding of the student. Minor and Major will be for 3 hours duration each, covering entire syllabus.


Time to time department conduct guest lecture on various topic for students. By attending these guest lecture students have the opportunity to learn something new. Creates amazing community relations. Give professionals a chance to connect with students.

Time to time department conduct workshops on various topics for students.

Faculty Development Programs (FDPs)

in adapting faculty members to their changing roles in initiating and setting the directions for curricular changes. These programs can be a powerful tool to constitute a positive institutional climate and can range from basic orientation programs for new faculty members. It also provides faculties the knowledge of new technologies.


Students of department also participate into the social activities, sports and Cultural activities which are conducted by University time to time.

Snap shots of Social activities

Snap shots of sports activities

Snap shots of Cultural activities